Running Streak Hits One Year

It’s been quite a while since I’ve written a blog post.  I guess I’m really not very consistent with this blogging thing.  Regardless, I decided today was a day to get another post up.  You see, today marked a milestone in my running streak.  The current streak started on Saturday, 24 December 2011, after arriving at my brother-in-law and sister-in-law’s house in Liverpool, New York.  That run was a fun run in the snow with my wife, Caroline.  She wanted to run for an hour so we did a nice 6-mile route along the lake.  At that time, I had no thoughts about starting a running streak.  As 2012 started, I set a goal to run every day in the month of January.  When I got to the end of January, I realized that I was so close to 50 consecutive days that I should take it at least that far.  Once I hit 50 days, I thought that I should try to get to 100 days.  After I got to 100 days, several friends suggested I take the streak for an entire year.  I wasn’t sure about that but decided to give it a shot.  The odds of avoiding injury and sickness for a whole year while running every day seemed long.  I didn’t think I would get through the whole year, but decided to attack it one day at a time.  If I could make sure to get out the door and meet up with my running group, The Village Runners, I just might make it.

This morning was day 366 of the streak.  Being a leap year, I had to run an extra day to complete the full year.  I was fortunate this morning to run 6 miles with my good friends Jack, Kile and Russ.  It just hit me that I started the streak with a 6-mile run and culminated the year with another 6-mile run.  Over the course of the 366 days, I have run 2,665 miles for an average of 7.3 miles-per-day.

The main thing that I have learned during this year is that you can do anything if you will put your mind to it.  Of course, I had to be smart with my runs.  Since I didn’t take any “real” rest days, I had to include days where I could get in my run but get a break in the process.  Another lesson I learned is how my running friends are the most supportive group around.  I would not have gotten this far without the support of so many others.

I guess the next question for me to answer is how much longer can I keep the streak going.  That’s actually a good question.  At this point, I don’t really know how to answer that on.  If I had to guess, I’ll probably stop the streak on…

Leave a Reply

