The Light Of My Life

This past week was a milestone week.  I’m late getting it into a blog because I was having computer issues.  What was the milestone you may ask?  On Wednesday, 15 August, Caroline and I celebrated our 20th anniversary!  It’s hard to believe we’ve been married that long.  It seems like yesterday that I saw her for the first time and knew I had to get to know her.  After a failed “scheme” to meet her, I just had to call her and introduce myself.  Boy was I nervous!  She was way out of my league but I had to take the chance.

After our first date, I knew she was different from anyone else I had ever dated.  We hit it off right away.  In so many ways, we are very similar but also quite different in other ways.  I think we complement one another well.  She fills the areas where I am weak and I would like to think I do the same for her.

We met for the first time in November 1991.  We got engaged in February 1992 and then married in August.  For many people, that was too fast.  For me, I just knew she was the right person.  Of course, the challenge was convincing her to marry me.  Somehow, I pulled it off.  To this day, I chalk it up to her being young and naive.  Once I got that ring on her finger and heard her say “I do,” I could breathe a sigh of relief because I knew she was stuck with me.  I still wonder how I pulled that off.  Others do too!  More than once, I’ve had someone ask me how I got her to marry me.  I guess when you “marry up” as much as I did, it’s a reasonable question!

Caroline is the most remarkable person I know.  Not only is she drop-dead gorgeous, she is one of the smartest people on the planet.  She excels in everything she puts her mind to.  I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone so focused and dedicated to anything and everything she does.  When she tells me she wants to do something, I know she will succeed.  There’s never a doubt in my mind.

To have been given 20 years with Caroline is the greatest gift I could have ever received.  The good thing is that it’s not stopping here.  Every day that I’m married to her is a blessing.  I would say I hope to have 20 more years but that wouldn’t be enough.  I saw a saying a few years ago that is so true to how I feel about Caroline:

I love you more than yesterday and less than tomorrow.

Happy anniversary, Caroline!

3 thoughts on “The Light Of My Life

  1. That is the most touching tribute to a mate that I have ever seen! I am so happy for both of you! Twenty is just a good start. May you have 50 more.
    Glad to hear all is well with you. If you find a slow Thursday sometime would love to meet you for lunch.
    Larry Rinehart
    437-8426
    RineharL@bellsouth.net

Leave a Reply

