It’s All About Priorities

I have friends that often say things like, “I don’t know how you run.” Or, “I just don’t have time to run.”  The reality is that we all have the same 24 hours in our day.  At the end of the day, it’s all about priorities.  We all find the time to do what is really important to us.  If something really is important to us, we will find the time to do it.

I do understand that some folks may have more demands on their time than others do.  I also realize that not everyone wants to run as much as I do.  Sometimes, I even have people refer to running as an obsession for me.  I don’t view it as an obsession.  I actually enjoy running and pushing myself to see what I can accomplish.  I like the following picture that was posted on The Village Runners (my running group) Facebook page not too long ago because I think it captures how I feel:

For me to run, I have to make time to run.  I know that sounds simplistic but it’s true.  Training for a marathon certainly takes desire, dedication and willingness to put in the miles.  There are parts of training that I know I probably should do but don’t.  For example, I know that it would be helpful for me run intervals or hill repeats.  Right now, I just don’t want to do that, so I don’t.  That surprises some folks but I simply want to run.  My focus this year has been logging as many miles as I can.  I am working on a running streak that started on Christmas Eve last year.  As of this morning, I have run 219 consecutive days and run 1,631 miles.  Even with all that running, I still do not want to run intervals or hill repeats.  Maybe one day, but not now.

One of my good friends ran his first marathon last year in Paris.  He was smart in thinking he was going to go somewhere fun if he was going to put in the work to run 26.2 miles.  During his training, he asked me one day where I found the time for marathon training.  I told him that I quit playing golf on Saturday and used that time to get in my long runs.

We all prioritize our time to do what we feel like we need to do.  If you really want to spend time with your spouse, you will find a way to do so.  If you really want to get better at golf, you will find time to play and practice.  If you really want to become a better runner, you have to spend time on the road or trail.  There is really no other way to become a better runner.  I learned a couple of years ago that it is better for me to run in the morning so I make sure to get up every morning to meet my running group.  It has become a priority for me.  When I can’t run in the morning, I have to find the time to go for a run if I really want to.  So far, I have wanted to every day since Christmas Eve.  I hope you find something that allows you to push yourself outside your comfort zone.  It may seem scary at first, but it is so rewarding in the end.  If something is important to you, you will find the time to do it.

2 thoughts on “It’s All About Priorities

    • I run almost every day with my group. On rare occasions, I do run solo but it is not very often. Our group, The Village Runners, is a phenomenal group of dedicated runners. You can count on someone being at the meeting place every morning.

Leave a Reply

