Crossfit Update

Well, I’ve been doing crossfit for six or so weeks now at Ignite Fitness in Hoover.  The first thing I’ve learned with crossfit is just how weak I am.  It’s been a bit bothersome because I can remember how well I could do a lot of these activities when I was in high school.  Of course, that was a long time ago!

In the beginning, everything was hard and I mean everything.  Tonight, our WOD (workout of the day) consisted of a 400-meter row then a five-minute rest before we started a 12-minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) of six deadlifts, nine knees-to-elbows and twelve box jumps.  The prescribed weight for the deadlifts was 155 pounds for men and 105 pounds for women.  The box jumps were on to a 24-inch box for men and a 20-inch box for women.  Since I never lift the prescribed weight for men, that never entered my mind.  Instead, I used 115 pounds.  This was one of the first times that I used a heavier weight than the women!  I did use the 24-inch box.  Other than the one WOD that consisted of all running, this was the closest I came to getting an Rx on a WOD.  I actually did the knees-to-elbows tonight.  When I started crossfit, I couldn’t do one of those.

Tonight’s WOD was hard but it was good to complete it.  Being able to do as much as I did without having to scale all of it was great.  I am starting to see some improvement with the workouts.  Of course, I still hate pull-ups!

The trainers have been great.  All of them (Chris, Sonia, Clay, Ryan and Shane) have been supportive and worked with me to make sure I am performing the exercises correctly so as not to get hurt.  I still have a ton of room to improve but I like seeing results already.  I’m also looking forward to how the cross-training will help my running.

4 thoughts on “Crossfit Update

  1. I so understand where you’re coming from with this. Discovering how weak I was blew me away. And spurred me on. Getting stronger now, but a long way from where I want to be.

    Great, honest post.

  2. Pingback: 4 STEPS FROM FAT TO FIT: One Woman’s Weight Loss Journey and How You Can Do It Too « SHEDENS: Sausage Parties On the Daily

  3. Pingback: When Should I Workout? « Outpost CrossFit

  4. Pingback: When Should I Workout? | Outpost CrossFit

Leave a Reply

