Yoga

I don’t even know where to start this blog.  Honestly, I don’t.  I went to my very first yoga class tonight at lululemon athletica at The Summit in Birmingham.  I had no idea what to expect.  Based on what I had seen on TV, I thought there was a chance we would sit cross legged with our hands on our knees, palms up, chanting.  Obviously, I wasn’t looking forward to doing that!  I was really hoping to do some stretching.  I have basically no flexibility so I have challenges when it comes to stretching activities.

When I got to the store, there were a lot of familiar faces.  Although the class seemed to me to be a big group, I think The Village Runners were half the class.  That removed a bit of the anxiety of not knowing what I was getting myself into.  Lululemon conducts a complementary yoga class every Sunday in the store from 6pm to 7pm.  Each class is led by a local yoga instructor.  This week, the instructor was one of their ambassadors, Shannon Andrews Skipper.  I don’t have any past experience with which to compare, but she was out there.  She kep telling us to let go of what we were holding on to.  As best I could tell, I wasn’t holding on to anything but she just kept saying it.  The weirdest part was when she wanted everyone to start dancing around the room.  Nope!  I did not dance.  I was told later that this was not normally part of the yoga class and that’s a good thing.

Clearly a lot of those people have been doing yoga for a while.  That’s the only explanation for how some of them can bend like they did.  Many of the positions we were supposed to get into was never going to happen for me.  I just don’t bend like that.

One thing that did crack me up is the crazy names they call the different positions.  We did Downward Facing Dog Pose, Upward Dog Pose, Child Pose, Plank Pose, Tree Pose and Plow Pose to name a few.  At one point, we were given the option to “flip our dog.”  I probably could not have flipped my dog if I tried it but I had no idea how to do that.  In reality, I’m not actually sure that I did all of these poses but I heard the words during the class.

At the end of the day, my goal with yoga is to improve flexibility.  I probably will not be able to do some of these positions ever but that doesn’t bother me.  At the end of the day, I’m hoping yoga will make me a better runner.  It’s as simple as that.  I’m guessing I’ll get better at yoga over time.  At least I hope so.

3 thoughts on “Yoga

  1. Keep it up! I love yoga after a long run. I usually show up to a gentle yoga class drenched in sweat coming from the trails… My first time doing so I had to apologize for stinking! lol

  2. Pingback: Step inside a new reality « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

