2012 First Half Review

“A look at the past reminds us of how great is the distance, and how short, over which we have come.  The past makes us ask what we have done with us.  It makes us ask whether our very achievements are not ironical counterpoint and contrast to our fundamental failures.”

~ Robert Penn Warren

Today, being the last day of June, marks the end of the first half of 2012.  From time to time, I like to look back to see where I’ve been and what I’ve accomplished.  Most of the time, my focus is on what is coming next but I do think it is important to review the past to remember where you came from.  It’s dangerous to dwell in the past because you can completely miss the here and now.  What happened yesterday has happened and there’s nothing we can do to change it.  Tomorrow is not guaranteed to us so we must live in the present and make the most of the time we are given by an Almighty God.

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.”

~ Mother Teresa

This first half of 2012 has been very productive for me from a running perspective.  First of all, I have run at least one mile every single day of the year.  That’s 182 out of 182 days.  My total mileage is 1,340 miles so far this year for an average of 7.4 miles per day.  It’s also an average of 223.4 miles per month.  In addition to the consistency, I’ve also run in 12 races so far this year:

I’ve also pushed my current running streak to 190 days and 1,403 miles.  Rather than talk about the streak here, check out my previous post on the subject.

“It’s the friends you can call up at 4 a.m. that matter.”

~ Marlene Dietrich

In addition, it’s been a great year for my running group, The Village Runners.  We’ve added a lot of great people to our group this year.  Currently, we have 155 members on our Facebook page.  More importantly, so many in our group have accomplished so much.  Darnell, Kile, Sara, Danny and Micki completed one of the toughest marathons in the country at the Big Sur International Marathon.  Russ ran his first marathon in almost 30 years at the Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle Marathon and dominated it while Michael tore up the half marathon there.  David K. completed his run through the big four marathons in the Boston Marathon.  Tanya completed her first marathon at Mercedes Marathon in Birmingham as did Kile.  Becca, Darnell, Julie and Sara represented our group at the Disney Princess Half Marathon both in the race and in the media.  Stephen reached the milestone of losing 300 pounds.  There’s many, many more examples I could offer here but I’m stopping for now.

As you can see, I think it’s so rewarding to have so many good friends.  When you spend as much time on the road together as we do, you really get to know an awful lot about one another.  Of course, we do stick with the mantra of “What’s said on the road stays on the road.”  I feel extremely fortunate to be part of this group.  There’s no doubt in my mind that they are hugely instrumental in what I have been able to accomplish.  I would not be anywhere near the runner I am today without their friendship and support.  Who else is willing to meet at 5am to run?  Or 4am?  Or…

One thing I do know is that I cannot wait to see what else we are able to do.  The first half of 2012 has been great.  The second half will be even better.  I’m certain of it!

9 Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: 10 If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Leave a Reply

