Streaking

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'”

~ Peter Maher, Canadian marathon runner

What is streaking?  One definition I found at www.dictionary.com is “to make a sudden dash in public while naked, especially as a prank.”  This definition brings back memories of Ray Stevens from when I was a kid.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check this out.  Anyway, that’s not the kind of streaking I’m going to talk about in this post.

Another definition of streaking is “an uninterrupted series.”  When it comes to running, streaking is when you run at least one mile every day.  Runner’s World introduced the Summer Running Streak 2012 again this year.  The purpose is to run every day between Memorial Day (28 May) and Independence Day (4 July).  Several of my fellow Village Runners are participating in the Summer Streak.  It’s made for a fun and interesting month so far.

You may wonder why I bring this up today.  The reason is because I started my own streak on Christmas Eve and this is day 180 of my current streak.  During the streak, I have run 1,345 miles.  That’s an average of 7.5 miles per day.  I actually started this streak with the plan to go for 30 days.  Being somewhat obsessive, I just couldn’t figure out how to stop.  The longer this streak goes, the longer I think I can keep it going.

My thought now is to keep it going through at least 4 July.  Since I am registered for the SeaWheeze lululemon athletica Half Marathon in Vancouver on 11 August, the streak may be coming to an end in July.  I am thinking I want to race this half marathon and try to set a new PR (personal record).  To do that, I probably need to adjust my training such that I take an occasional rest day during my training.

Running streaks are not uncommon.  There are a number of people that have put together some very impressive streaks.  For example, Ron Hill (born 25 September 1938) has run every day since December 1964!  He has run in two Olympics (Tokyo in 1964 and Munich in 1972).  He won the 74th Boston Marathon in 1970 in a course record of 2:10:30.  He was the second man to break 2:10 in a marathon and he set world records in four other distances, but never claimed the marathon world record.  His final marathon was the 100th Boston Marathon in 1996.  In all, he completed 115 marathons with 112 under 2:50, 103 under 2:45 and 29 under 2:20.  For me, I don’t think about a runner of this caliber compiling a streak like this.  I’m very impressed.

Obviously, I am no where near the runner that Ron Hill is.  I just push myself to see what I can accomplish.  While talking to some of my running group, I realized that my current streak has been very productive.  During this streak, I have set PRs in the 5K (23:10 at Ready.Set.Cure.), 10K (49:32 at Mercedes Benz Cotton Row Run), 15K (1:17:14 at Statue to Statue), marathon (4:19:39 at Mercedes Marathon) and 50K (6:37:50 at Run for Kids Challenge).  (All of my race results can be found here.)  It makes me wonder if I really do need a rest day after all.  I guess I’ll see what happens when 4 July gets here.  My friend, David, thinks I should try to go an entire year.  Who knows?  It sounds like a challenge to me!

3 thoughts on “Streaking

  1. Pingback: 2012 First Half Review | Running Randy

Leave a Reply

