First Crossfit Workout

Well, I finally did it.  I did my first crossfit WOD (workout of the day) tonight at Ignite Fitness in Hoover.  Lucky for me, it was only a fifteen minute workout.  I use the term “lucky” because I only had to suffer for a short period of time.  🙂  One thing I learned quickly is how weak I really am.  Since I already knew that, it was something I came to grips with before I got there tonight.  I knew that I only needed to do what I could do.  Much like when I started running, I’m really only competing against myself.  Of course, I shouldn’t be that hard to beat right now.

The following is the WOD we did tonight:

“Hope”

Three rounds of:

Burpees   |   75/55 pound Power snatch   |   Box jump, 24/20″ box   |   75/55 pound Thruster   |    Chest to bar Pull-ups

“Hope” has the same format as Fight Gone Bad. In this workout you move from each of five stations after a minute. This is a five-minute round from which a one-minute break is allowed before repeating. The clock does not reset or stop between exercises. On call of “rotate,” the athlete/s must move to next station immediately for good score. One point is given for each rep. Score is total number of reps.

one person performs, other encourages and counts

I can see right out of the gate that crossfit will do a lot for my overall fitness.  As a result, my running should benefit tremendously.  I’ve seen the way crossfit benefits many of my running friends like Jack and Russ.  The extra workouts should help me shed a few more pounds, which will add speed to my runs.  Let’s hope!

2 thoughts on “First Crossfit Workout

  1. Pingback: Iron Tribe 5K « Running Randy

Leave a Reply

